Saturday Concert Line-Up

They Might Be Giants

They Might Be Giants is an original band from Brooklyn, New York founded by John Flansburgh and John Linnell. TMBG writes, records and tours continuously, and has been involved in numerous television and film projects. They have an on-going audio and sometimes video podcast that is free. They have won two Grammys. The Johns are frequently joined by Dan Miller on guitar, Danny Weinkauf on bass, and Marty Beller on drums. They Might Be Giants' latest album is called Nanobots. 25 unreasonable songs in 45 phenomenal minutes.

Ben Kweller

"I've always been at ease in recording studios," Ben Kweller says. "They're magic places I can escape to, where everyday confines don't exist. That's why art is so important, there are no rules." With his art, Kweller views the world with fresh eyes and empathizes with all walks of life. "This album's about the people in the background, in the alleyways of society. I relate with them because we take life as it comes. We roll with the punches, twists and turns." In the third verse of "Fight", he sums it up, "Some days are aces and some days are faces, some days are twos and threes." Changing Horses is a whole deck.

Jesse Ruben

"I believe that good songs can change everything". That's how 27-year-old singer-songwriter Jesse Ruben leads himself into the online world. Jesse cites legendary artists like Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell and James Taylor as his greatest influences, and also admits a fondness for the standards penned by Cole Porter and the Gershwins. Jesse has independently sold over 10,000 albums and had his music featured on TV shows such as One Tree Hill, Degrassi, and Teen Mom and toured with some amazing artists including Jewel, KT Tunstall, Matt Simons, Hanson, and Ryan Cabrera. His first self-released 2008 debut, "Aiming for Honesty", consolidated his growing audience, with whom the performer has cultivated with virtually nonstop touring and persistent online networking.

Khari Mateen

Khari Mateen is a songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. His first credits of note came with The Roots' 2006 album Game Theory (Grammy nominated), for which he co-produced the title track, "Livin' in a New World," and "Clock with No Hands." In addition to continuing his collaborations with The Roots — he contributed to Rising Down and Undun — he collaborated with Joy Denalane, Jill Scott, Tye Tribbett, James Poyser, J*Davey, and Roots offshoot Money Making Jam Boys, among others. In 2011, Khari produced "Make My," the title track to The Roots' Grammy nominated Undun. While producing, Khari began composing for independent films and TV shows. He scored the Sundance series Brick City, which went on to receive multiple Emmy nominations, as well as the HBO Documentary film "Prayer For The Perfect Season."

Hezekiah Jones

"Hezekiah Jones is the musical nom de plume for Raphael Cutrufello and a band of like-minded musicians crafting alternative folk music. His catalog of songs sometimes sounds like a post-apocalyptic White Album, as covered by Sufjan Stevens. The biting, sometimes campy vibe only serves to intensify the blow of his sucker-punch ballads. Songs are filled with outlandish characters, imagined landscapes..., ringing harmonies, and baroque instrumental flourishes, but never disconnect from the tangible feelings at their center."

— Peter Marinari, CBS local

Sean Hoots Trio

Sean Hoots of the venerable Hoots and Hellmouth brings his new trio to the WHYY Connections Festival stage this September.

"Hoots songwriting is fresh, alive, and experimental, drawing its inspiration from the great songwriters of yesterday while his soulful, satin voice draws the listener in and captivates his every thought." Kennett Flash

— Kennett Flash

Sunday Concert Line-Up

The Soul Survivors

The Soul Survivors and their hit, "Expressway To Your Heart" have been an integral role in creating what is now known as "The Sound of Philadelphia" since the 1960's when they first teamed up with Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff. In polls taken by both the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia's City Paper, "Expressway" was voted the number one record ever to come out of Philadelphia.

"Expressway" was followed by two other chart records, "Explosion In My Soul" and "Mission Impossible". Their first album, released in 1968, was "When The Whistle Blows". A second LP, on Atco Records, called "Take Another Look" appeared in 1969. During this time, the group toured extensively throughout the U.S. appearing with many different types of artists...everyone from Jackie Wilson, Smokey Robinson and The Miracles to Janis Joplin, the Beach Boys, Buffalo Springfield, Sly and the Family Stone and countless others.

In 1974, the Soul Survivors reunited with Gamble and Huff to record their self titled album "The Soul Survivors" on TSOP Records. It was written and performed in a style that would define the unique sound of The Soul Survivors. The album produced "City Of Brotherly Love" which would show up on Billboard's R&B Top 100 and become the group's fourth charted outing.

The Sensational Soul Cruisers

The Sensational Soul Cruisers are an 11 man horn group fronted by four soulful vocalists who pay homage and tribute to classic performers from Otis Redding and the Drifters to Barry White and the Commodores. With a lifetime of study and hard work, this group captures and emulates the distinctive style, skill and choreography of a classic show band. Former members of famous R & B and smooth soul groups, they now work together as individuals with their own sound and delivery and as a vocal harmony group that is beyond comparison.


OwlCappella is Temple University’s first co-ed a cappella group. Formed by Bexx Rosenbloom in September 2010, OwlCappella consists of 17 members that share a common love and interest in singing. OwlCappella has already made a name for themselves by performing at the Philadelphia Auto Show multiple times, opening at Radio City Music Hall for the 85th Radio City Christmas Spectacular, as well as singing in and around Temple University. In January 2013, they recorded their first studio EP, "Owl or Nothing," which is scheduled for release on March 26, 2013.