News and Public Affairs Service

Arts and Culture Service

Children's Service

Adult Learning Service

Wider Horizons Service

Gifts, Grants, and Underwriting



Who's Who

Annual Report Home


WHYY's programs, services and staff were honored with the following international, national and regional awards during fiscal year 2006:

The Aviation Council of Pennsylvania honored 91FM news anchor Brenda Jorett with the 2005 News Media Award, for outstanding reporting on aviation.

The Mid-Atlantic chapter of the National Television Association of Arts and Sciences (NATAS) awarded the Outstanding Documentary Series Emmy to Presidential Conversations on the Constitution. Paul Gluck and Ken Finkel, co-executive producers; Cokie Roberts, host; Mary Martin, producer; Pat Warner, editor; and Jerry Botner, graphic designer.

PBS, at the fall development conference, honored WHYY with two awards:

  • First place to WHYY's Caring Community Coalition and the Wider Horizons Service for Community Development.
  • Certificate of Achievement for On-Air Achievement. Suzanne Fiske, pledge producer.

The MarCom Creative Awards, an international awards competition for outstanding achievement by marketing and communication practitioners, awarded WHYY three prizes:

  • Platinum Award for Best Special Event, WHYY-FM 50th Anniversary, Nessa Forman, Paul Gluck, Christine Dempsey, Jennifer Lyn, Art Ellis and the WHYY team.
  • Gold Award for the Best Single TV Spot, Happy Together, Dave Mozeleski.
  • Gold Award for the Best Media Kit, WHYY Media Kit. Mary Eileen O'Connor.

The A.I.R. regional award for Best Radio Newscast was presented to Brenda Jorett, 91FM News Anchor.

The Pennsylvania League of Women Voters honored WHYY President and CEO Bill Marrazzo with its Civic Leadership Award.

The Philadelphia Business Journal recognized Board Chair Molly Dickinson Shepard and WHYY's Nessa Forman as Women of Distinction.

The 53rd Columbus International Film & Video Festival recognized Experience; Pennsylvania Ballet, with an Honorable Mention.

Delaware Valley Geriatrics Society bestowed its President's Award on Wider Horizons Executive Director Willo Carey. (This award has only been given once in the past 15 years.)

The Public Relations Society of America, Philadelphia Chapter, honored WHYY with Merit Awards for:

  • Know WHYY Media Kit, Mary Eileen O'Connor, Kerri Hanlon, RT&E Interactive.
  • 91FM@50 Web site, Anna Christopher, Rich Baniewicz, Nessa Forman.

International Association of Business Communicators, New Jersey Chapter, awarded WHYY a 2005 IRIS in the Electronic and Interactive Communications category for WHYY's 91FM@50 Web site. Anna Christopher, Rich Baniewicz and Nessa Forman.

Clarion Awards, national honors conferred by The Association for Women in Communications, honored WHYY TV for:

  • Circle of Love as the Best Local TV Documentary.
  • Experience as the Best Television Story/Segment Local.

Communicator Awards 2005 Video Competition recognized:

  • Presidential Conversations on the Constitution with an Award of Distinction, for a Broadcast TV Documentary
  • WHYY-FM 50th Anniversary special event with an Honorable Mention, Special Event

27th Annual Telly Awards, honored WHYY with Bronze Telly Awards for

  • Outstanding original TV production for Hometown Legends: Ruth Patrick.
  • Outstanding original TV production for and Circle of Love.
  • Outstanding original TV production for Presidential Conversations on the Constitution.

2006 National Headliner Club awarded WHYY third-place honors in the breaking news category for Philadelphia Corruption Trial. Brad Linder.

Delaware Press Association honored WHYY Delaware Tonight with five first place honors for:

  • Best TV newscast for Delaware Responds to Hurricane Katrina. Micheline Bourdreau.
  • Best TV interview for NCCo Base Safe? Rob Stewart.
  • Best prepared TV report for Katrina Evacuees Come to Middletown. Jamila Trindle.
  • Special TV programming for Delaware Guard Goes to the Gulf. Patrick Mairs.
  • Best on-the-scene TV spot report for Condo Fire. Patrick Mairs.

Associated Press News, recognizing outstanding broadcast journalism in Pennsylvania, gave first-place honors to WHYY for the best regularly scheduled radio newscast. Brenda Jorett, Shai Ben-Yaacov, Scott Williams.

The International Communicator Awards. Print Competition honored WHYY with:

  • Award of Excellence, the highest honor, for the 91FM@50 Web Site. Anna Christopher, Rich Banewicz and Nessa Forman.
  • Award of Distinction for the WHYY Media Kit. Mary Eileen O'Connor, Debi Hoxter and RT&E.

Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters 2006 honored WHYY with the Best TV Documentary for About Benjamin. Ken Finkel, Trudi Brown.

Society of Professional Journalists awarded WHYY the following for 2005 programs:

  • Best radio news story, first place, Coverage of a Biotechnology Conference. Susan Phillips, Aries Keck, Brad Linder and Dave Heller.
  • Best radio investigative report, first place, Photographers Becoming Security Concerns. Joel Rose.
  • Best radio sports report, first place, Temple Football. Joel Rose.
  • Best radio arts and culture report, first place, Sister Gertrude Morgan. Joel Rose.
  • Best radio feature, second place, Intelligent Design on Trial. Aries Keck.
  • Best radio health and science report, second place, Mousetrap Exhibit. Aries Keck.
  • Best radio arts and culture report, third place, Girls DJ 101. Susan Phillips.
  • Best TV news story, first place, On Dry Ground in Middletown. Jamila Trindle.
  • Best TV arts and culture report, first place, The Maestro. Rob Stewart.
  • Best TV news story, second place, Special Hunt. Patrick Mairs.
  • Best TV feature, second place, Delaware Portrait in Time. Ann Ahl.
  • Best TV news story, third place, Steckel Family Speaker. Patrick Mairs.
  • Best TV feature, third place, Cajun Mike. Rob Stewart.
  • Best TV health and safety report, third place, Special Thanks. Patrick Mairs.

James Beard Foundation recognized A Chef's Table: Getting Ready for Thanksgiving as a finalist in its national competition.